Rugby Union: New faces add expertise to NHRU board

MOVING FORWARD: Bill Clifton has been re-elected as president of the Newcastle and Hunter Rugby Union for another term. Newcastle and Hunter Rugby Union president Bill Clifton plans to tap into the business and rugby acumen that new board membersMeg Purser, Pat Slattery,Glenn Turner and Barney Collins.

The quarter were elected on to the board on Monday night, where Clifton was also voted in for another two-yearterm. Bob Brenton was elevated to vice president and Stan McManus will also serve another term on the board.

The new directors have vast business experience and commercial connections.

“Meg manages her own corporate communication company in Newcastle and has extensive localbusiness links,” Clifton said. “Pat is well known in business circles through Slattery Auctions and has wideconnections at all levels of rugby.Glenn has a career spanning more than 30 years as a senior executive in the mining services,manufacturing, engineering and construction sectors in and overseas. He was thechairman of the former Hunter Region Sporting Venues Authority and is the former chairman ofthe Hunter Medical Research Institute.Barney is well respected in local rugby circles for his long and dedicated service as part ofthe NRURA. Barney is also well known asa Director of EJE Architecture.”

The new directors replace Dan Gollan and Paul Ryan, who stood down. Long-time vice president Graham Cowan passed away last year.

The board’s first task is implementing a strategic which has been developed over the past 12 months after consultation with stakeholders.

“The Hunter Rugby Strategic Plan 2019-2021 is now complete and ready to be adoptedand signed off at the first meeting of the newly electedboard in early January,” Clifton said.

“The NHRU continues to be regarded as one of the best run zones in the country and over thenext few years we have much to do in building rugbyand implementing the Hunter RugbyStrategic Plan.”

Full details of the strategic plan will be released after the new board meets during January 2019.

Comments are closed.